Cloth Diapering

 cloth-diapers.jpg

I couldn’t have a blog on stewardship and not post about cloth diapering.  I feel like I’m preaching to the choir on this one, because I know a lot of my regular readers are cloth diaperers.  But just in case you aren’t, or if you are interested in cloth diapering, I’m going to give a brief rundown of why I think this tops the charts on stewardship.

First of all, the most obvious thing about cloth diapering is that you are not throwing anything away.  The solid waste gets flushed (where it belongs), and we use baby washrags as wipes.  So, you are eliminating a lot of waste this way!  Before we started cloth diapering Isabella, we had 1-2 trash bags full of diapers every week.  And she was really small.  I can only imagine how many diapers we would have now!  And like I mentioned in my previous post, a diaper takes several hundred years to break down.  So, think of all that filthy waste that is piling up at the local dump.  Those diapers will still be hanging around when your great great great great great grandchildren are alive.  That’s not the kind of legacy I want to leave.

Another way that cloth diapering equals good stewardship is with money.  Yes, people have been known to become cloth diaper addicts.  And I must admit, there are some really, really cute cloth diapers out there that I would love to have.  But, if you are wise with your diapering choices, you will save a ton of money.  Estimates are that you will spend anywhere from $1500 to $3000 PER CHILD on disposable diapers.  But with cloth diapering, you can diaper your child in even the trendiest diapers for anywhere between $300 to $800 (from birth to potty training.)  Not to mention, if you take good care of your diapers (Remember, we’re wanting to be good stewards!) they can last through multiple children!  So, we’re talking about a significant overall savings. 

What about the health of the baby in disposable diapers?  Well, the verdict is still out on that one.  Disposables haven’t been around for long enough to tell if there are any long term problems with using them.  The ultra absorbent kind that we have today are full of all kinds of chemicals to suck up the moisture.  Does anyone else think that it’s weird that a child can be wearing a diaper with a pound of pee in it, and their bottom can still be dry?! 

So, my husband and I personally made the decision to switch to cloth for several reasons.  The media will tell you that you need to buy the Pampers because they are convenient.  But you have to ask yourself if the supposed convenience of disposables is really worth it in the long run.  At minimum, it’s something to think about so you can make an educated decision.  You never have to just go on what the media tells you!  Are disposables the better choice?  My husband and I have come to the conclusion that they are not.  And we have never regretted our decision.  And, if you choose to use disposables, there are no hard feelings. 

On a related note, if you read this and are interested in brands of cloth diapers or websites from which to purchase, just leave a comment. 

6 Responses to “Cloth Diapering”

  1. Passionate Homemaking » Blog Archive » Cloth Diapering: Is it worth it? Says:

    […] Beth shares all about the benefits and reasons for cloth diapering. It is economical (far cheaper than disposables), you are not wasting anything (no adding to the landfills), nothing harmful for your babies bottom, and if you go my route you should be set for diapering a couple of kids on $300 (depending on how well you take care of your diapers)! They are a lot simpler than you may think. […]

  2. clothmama Says:

    I love Cloth Diapering!

  3. Debra Says:

    Thanks for this post. I have recently begun my quest into cloth diapering, (sadly after 4 children), but better late than never I suppose.

    Your baby is adorable.

  4. Nancy Says:

    Hello there,

    I’ve been wanting to start using cloth daipers for our baby due in May but I’m SO overwhelmed with the choices. I love Bum-Genius but find them a bit expensive especially if I need about 24 of them. I’ve also heard of Fuzzi-Bunz but you have to buy them in different sizes and I’m confused as to how many I will need. I’ve also heard of using pre-folds with covers which totally confuses me. I’d really like to spend as little as I can but still have good quality diapers – even if I have to mix them up – like using prefolds while I’m home and using the better ones for going out.

    For some reason, I can’t seem to get this information online so I’d rather speak with someone who can give me all the information and advice they have. I would greatly appreciate your help!

    Thank you in advance!

    – Nancy

  5. Clothing Diapering Part 2: Lots of Details « Stewardship–Not Convenience Says:

    […] again from friends and acquaintances that hear that I use cloth diapers on my daughter.  You can read her question in detail, but in essence, her question or comment is “Help!  I’m overwhelmed with the […]

  6. Vanessa Says:

    What do you use to wash your diapers?

    I use prefold diapers. I try to use as little detergent as possible and I always do a second rinse but I am starting to notice that the diapers feel like they have a detergent build-up. Do you have any suggestions?

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

