Cloth Wipe Recipe

If you cloth diaper, chances are you use cloth wipes as well.  Not only is this far more economical, and better for the environment, have you ever read the list of ingredients in commerical baby wipes?!  About a year ago, we banned any toiletries containing paraben in our house.  When Isabella was first born, we used disposable wipes, and I was shocked to find out that wipes had paraben in them.  So now, for many reasons, we use homemade wipes.  I use cheap baby wash rags for wipes.  I started out keeping a pile of dry rags in the nursery, and whenever I knew the diaper was poopy, I would go wet a couple in the sink.  However, this isn’t always convenient if you have a screaming, wiggly child, or if you go to change the diaper and didn’t realize it was dirty!  (That’s happened to me many times!)

I tried to find a recipe to make a solution to put on the cloths, so I could keep wet wipes in the nursery.  I found several, but they were either too soapy, or too overpowering, etc.  Finally, I found one that was decent and tweaked it to suit my desires.  I’m going to share it with you.

In a large mixing bowl, thoroughly combine 4 cups hot water (the hot water helps the other ingredients dissolve better), 2 Tblsp. baby shampoo (whatever you use on your child), 3 Tblsp. olive oil, and 3-4 drops of tea tree oil.  (The tea tree oil will keep the wipes from getting stagnant even if they sit for several days.)  Then, I basically just dunk the wipes in the solution and wring them out.  Then I fold them in half and put them in an empty disposable baby wipes box.  Usually you can get about 20 wipes into the box, and I’ve never had a problem with them starting to smell sour.  Plus, with all the dunking in the warm water and olive oil, your hands get moisturized!

I usually keep a box of these wipes in the nursery, and now that we’re feeding solids, I keep a box in the kitchen by the high chair.

3 Responses to “Cloth Wipe Recipe”

  1. Stephanie @ Keeper of the Home Says:

    That wipes recipes sounds good, I may have to try it. I also use baby rags for diaper wipes, but have just been refilling a container with fresh warm water every morning and using that. I like the idea of something that will stay nice for longer, and that has a bit of moisturizing and antiseptic quality to it (even though I think the plain water suffices, and we don’t have any diaper rash issues at all).

  2. Amy hay Says:

    Okay Beth,
    I LOVE your blogs! I can’t tell you how much they encourage me in my hopes of getting my life together. I too have been so concerned about the environment and I want to find new ways to conserve. I love the ideas about cloth grocery bags, I have like 10 totes I need to keep in my car.

    I am also excited about using cloth diapers. I saw that cloth sanitary pad thing last year. Seems pretty labor intensive at first but easy to get used to.

    I will keep reading. You bless me!

  3. Liz Says:

    This sounds like a really easy recipe to use – I’m due in 8 weeks and I can’t wait to get my first box of cloth diapers by UPS tomorrow! If I receive the thin Gerber cloth diapers as shower gifts, I’d like to use those as cloth wipes. Anything I can do to save my husband money since he works so hard.

Leave a Reply

