So Convicting!!!

I recently was referred to the video, “The Story of Stuff” (which you should definitely watch if you haven’t!!) through several other websites.  After seeing it, I was reminded of an email I received earlier this month.  I thought the email I received went perfectly along with the video.  So, I posted the pictures from the email below.  Just look at how much trash the average westerner would have to throw out with their food packaging, versus other countries.  We really do waste so much!  That’s just one of many reasons that it’s so much better to buy whole, unprocessed foods.  Also, take a look at the differences in family sizes as well.

 

And if the pictures below don’t convince you of the truth behind “The Story of Stuff,” just take a look at this website.  I subscribe to National Geographic.  In a recent edition, they did an article on what happens to trash (particularly old electronics) when we throw them away.  What you see in these photos is heartwrenching.  We are literally destroying the land, and other people’s lives because of our wasteful habits!!

 

Okay, on to the photos from the email….I’m a fan of giving credit where credit is due.  However, because the email was forwarded to me, I don’t know where these photos actually came from.  Just know they didn’t originate with me.

 

(Update:  Thanks to my friend Amanda for telling me that these photos are from a book called Hungry Planet by Peter Menzel.  They were also featured in Time Magazine.  He has another book called Material World that also looks fascinating!  But please note that I am just citing my sources.  I’m not endorsing these books right now because I have not read them.)

 

So, sit back and take a good look at our world!

 

sicily.jpg

 

<<Italy: The Manzo family of Sicily, Food expenditure for one week: 214.36 Euros or $260.11>>

mexico.jpg

<<Mexico : The Casales family of Cuernavaca, Food expenditure for one week: 1,862.78 Mexican Pesos or $189.09>>

poland.jpg

<<Poland : The Sobczynscy family of Konstancin-Jeziorna, Food expenditure for one week: 582.48 Zlotys or $151.27>>

egypt.jpg

<<Egypt : The Ahmed family of Cairo, Food expenditure for one week: 387.85 Egyptian Pounds or $68.53>>

ecuador.jpg

<<Ecuador : The Ayme family of Tingo, Food expenditure for one week: $31.55>>

bhutan.jpg

<<Bhutan : The Namgay family of Shingkhey Village, Food expenditure for one week: 224.93 ngultrum or $5.03>>

chad.jpg

<<Chad : The Aboubakar family of Breidjing Camp, Food expenditure for one week: 685 CFA Francs or $1.23>>

germany.jpg

<<Germany: The Melander family of Bargteheide, Food expenditure for one week: 375.39 Euros or $500.07>>

 us.jpg

<<United States: The Revis family of North Carolina, Food expenditure for one week $341.98>>

2 Responses to “So Convicting!!!”

  1. Amanda Says:

    So interesting Beth! I noticed how much fresh food many of the countries purchased for a week. Another interesting thing is the amount of food per family member is definitely not equal. Are those smaller families eating all that food in one week I wonder? In some countries a small amount purchases alot…I wonder what percentage of their monthly income goes to food? Thanks for encouraging me to buy more wisely, fresher and more local food!

  2. Alissa Says:

    I watched that video too – it made me a little sick to my stomach, and pushed me even further toward anti-consumerism. If I ever need a little re-motivation I’ll watch it again!

Leave a Reply

