Mineral Makeup

After years of breakouts and a really itchy face, I finally have found something that I consider no less than a miracle.  One night last summer, I was up watching infomercials on TV while I was doing a 3 a.m. feeding.  I saw a commercial for a popular mineral makeup brand, and she was talking about how great minerals are for sensitive skin.  One lady even mentioned how her daughter, who had celiac disease, had seen a major improvement in her skin.  That’s when I started to wonder….hmmm….could my itchy face be due to a sensitivity to something in the makeup because of my gluten problems?!  Afterall, you never really know what goes into store-bought makeup, since you can’t read the tiny ingredient list.

To make a long story short, I started to do some research into the popular mineral makeup brands.  Turns out that a lot of them have bismuth in them, which can be a major skin irritant.  After much searching, I finally found a brand that did not have bismuth in the makeup.  And, the owner had signed on to be part of the Campaign for Safe Cosmetics.  I was pretty much sold on trying the makeup at that point.  However, the one thing I had trouble with was the price.  Maybe that’s your problem with it, too.

Let me tell you, first of all, the results I have seen since I have switched to mineral makeup have been amazing.  No more little bumps.  I still get the hormonal breakouts every month, but the redness and itchiness have gone away completely.  And I have had so many people say things like, “Your complexion looks healthier or brighter.”  So, I don’t know if there was wheat or gluten in my old makeup, or if I just have multiple chemical sensitivites, but I am so much happier with the mineral makeup.  I would pay more just for the results I have seen.

On the good side, while the makeup costs more than your average WalMart brand upfront, I think it lasts a lot longer.  And since it doesn’t harbor bacteria, your makeup can sit around your house for years without expiring.

So, now you see why mineral makeup works for me!  It’s not only been good to my skin, but it’s been good for my wallet as well.

To read more about mineral makeup ingredients, and see if it might be the solution you’re looking for, read here.  This happens to also be the website for the brand of makeup I buy.  I won’t advertise explicitly for them, however, because although it works great for me, there are many other brands out there that you can try. 

And, finally, if you’re interested in finding out more about the chemicals in your cosmetics and toiletries, visit the Skin Deep Cosmetics Database.  It’s very interesting!

 

6 Responses to “Mineral Makeup”

  1. Superchikk Says:

    I switched to mineral makeup a few years back and I absolutely LOVE it. My skin improved SO much and I don’t feel all gunked up when I’m wearing it. Plus, it is a natural sunscreen, so I get the added protection without having to remember if I used the right moisturizer that morning.

    I’ve also found that after the initial investment, it’s much more cost effective. I have only had to buy foundation about once a year since I began using it, and even though it’s about $25, it’s cheaper than spending $6-$8 every few months on a bottle of goopy stuff.

  2. Amanda Says:

    I’m not sure if Everyday Minerals has Bismuth in it, but the price is awesome and the makeup is amazing. http://www.everydayminerals.com

  3. robin@heartofwisdom.com Says:

    I have just started testing some mineral make ups. Thanks for your imput.

    robin@heartofwisdom
    http://www.heartofwisdom.com/heartathome/

  4. kristin Says:

    Another Everyday Minerals fan here– I have also tried Bare Escentuals and ELF and Everyday Minerals is the clear winner! My skin has never looked better. It’s the combination of mineral makeup and washing my face with olive & castor oil, which I would love to do a WFMW on but I don’t havea blog! Everyday Mineral’s prices are amazing, particularly for kits, and especially the free samples!

  5. Lindsay Says:

    Go for it Beth! I love mineral makeup and I have in the works a post comparing two of the most popular out there, as I have friends on both sides of the spectrum. Currently, I have been using BareMinerals, and it is very reasonable for how long it lasts, but looking into Everyday Minerals, I think I will be making the switch, as it is a lot cheaper and does not have bismuth, as BareMinerals does. Welcome back to blogging too! Missed you. 😉

  6. Marie Says:

    It also stays on a lot better, which is important when you live in the SW like I do.

Leave a Reply

