“Rusty”Chicken

 Although I posted my diaper instructions on WFMW, I had to share my favorite super simple recipe (since that’s today’s theme). I thought I’d post this recipe since it’s so simple to make–it’s a great recipe to make when you want a homemade meal but you don’t have much prep time.  I can’t eat this anymore because of the gluten in it, but before I knew I had problems, this was on our family’s menu all the time.  It’s so easy and delicious, and I make it whenever I take a meal to someone because I know it will be a hit!  We came up with the name “Rusty” Chicken because the chicken comes out an orangish red color. 🙂

In a bowl, mix together 1 small bottle of Wishbone Russian dressing, 1/2 jar of apricot or peach preserves, and 1 envelope of onion soup mix.  Add a little water to make it easier to stir.

Cut chicken into pieces.  I use chicken breasts and cut them into strips.  Put them in a casserole dish and salt and pepper them.  Then pour the sauce over them and toss to coat.

Bake at 325 degrees for 1 hour.  This goes great with rice because it soaks up the extra yummy sauce.  Enjoy!

 

One Response to ““Rusty”Chicken”

  1. ebwinkle Says:

    I have a recipe that is really similar but the dressing is Dorothy Lynch Salad Dressing and apricot preserves. We always called it Dorothy Lynch Chicken. It’s super yummy!

Leave a Reply

